Skip to main content

Kindergarten Curriculum

Kindergarten Curriculum

The Kindergarten Curriculum is different to Pre-Primary to Year 6.

Planning for children in the Kindergarten year is supported by the Kindergarten Curriculum Guidelines.

The Guidelines draw on the Australian Government’s Early Years Learning Framework (the Framework).

They build on the following five learning development areas from the Framework.

  • Identity - Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Connecting and Contributing - Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Wellbeing - Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • Learning and Thinking - Children are confident and involved learners
  • Communication - Children are effective communicators

Students in Kindergarten receive a written report at the end of each Semester against the five learning development areas.

From Pre-Primary, students receive a written report against the Learning Areas (eg English, Maths, Science)

What will my child learn?

Parents can view the Early Years Framework for Kindergarten on the SCSA website.